Literature, Reading and Writing
This guide describes collections documenting literature, reading, and writing in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. It includes the papers of authors, novelists, playwrights, poets, journalists, editors, critics, professors, and historians as writers. Materials in the collections include drafts of literary works (novels, short stories, essays, and plays, among other genres) correspondence, diaries, biographical sketches, research materials, galley proofs, and book reviews. "Literary works" as defined here include popular works, poetry transcribed in diaries, and other common efforts at literary expression. Collections dealing with reading and publishing are also described in this guide. Diary-writing in itself (apart from diaries that contain literature or are the diaries of literary authors) does not qualify a collection for inclusion in this guide. Other diaries will be found in the guides to plantations and women's collections. Most of the collections are from Louisiana, but there are also materials from other areas of the Lower Mississippi Valley.
|
Adrien Rouquette biographical sketch, circa 1890-1920. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Fragment of an anonymous biographical sketch of Adrien Emmanuel Rouquette (1813-1887), a native of New Orleans, Louisiana, poet-priest of Louisiana, and apostle of the Choctaw Indians of St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana, known as 'Chahta-Ima'. Alternate title: Anonymous biographical sketch. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1444. Referenced in Guides: Religion, Literature
|
|
|
Agenda commercial de la Louisiane pour l'année, 1858-1877. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Printed French journal book (1858) contains notes on the progress of the Civil War and the 'Trent Affair', a diplomatic incident between the U.S. and Great Britain. Other topics include poetry; songs; partial plays in commedia dell'arte style; notes on Renaissance Italian history and notes on Daniel Deronda by George Eliot. Also included are listings for businesses and consulates in New Orleans, and public officials in Paris. Alternate title: Anonymous manuscript volume. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3545. Referenced in Guides: Politics, Performing arts, New Orleans in the Civil War, New Orleans 1866-, Civil War, French, Literature
|
|
|
Alley, Mary, Scrapbooks, 1843, 1862-1884, 1910.109 items, 3 vols. Location: Mss. Mf.:A. Baton Rouge native and wife of Charles Henry Jolly. Clippings from Baton Rouge papers on local and national issues at the end of the Civil War and early Reconstruction. Topics include politics, medicine, poetry, anecdotes, and deaths of Baton Rougeans. Other printed items include pamphlets on the dedication of St. Joseph's Cathedral and the history of the Catholic Church in Baton Rouge. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3570. |
|
|
Anderson, John Q. Manuscript, LOUISIANA SWAMP DOCTOR,1836-1970 (`bulk 1836-1853, 1930-1958). 352 items. Location: C:76. Writer and professor of English, University of Houston, Texas. Manuscript of Louisiana Swamp Doctor; The Writings of Henry Clay Lewis, Alias 'Madison Tensas, M.D.', edited by John Q. Anderson. (Baton Rouge: LSU Press, 1962) and related correspondence and research notes. It also contains succession records for the estate of Henry Clay Lewis (1853).For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2156. |
|
|
Anderson, John Q. Papers, ca. 1930-1990. 3 linear ft. Location: C:76-78, W:8, 7:51-52, OS:A. Writer and professor of English, University of Houston, Texas. Papers documenting Anderson's teaching career and writings. Includes reprints of articles, copies of typescripts of his Louisiana Swamp Doctor, and research materials for Kate Stone's diary, published as Brokenburn. Included are other writings on folklore and history, research materials of his wife Loraine Epps Anderson, and materials documenting their involvement with the Texas Folklore Society. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2162. |
|
|
Anderson, John Q., Papers, 1848-1993 (bulk 1953-1973). 7.5 linear ft., 5 v. Location: X:119-125, OS:A, P:17. John Q. Anderson was a professor of English and a writer of Southern history and folklore. This collections of files, correspondence, printed material, and photographs reflect Anderson's career, current events; and they provide research material for his publications, particularly "Brokenburn: The Journal of Kate Stone, 1861-1868" and "Louisiana Swamp Doctor: The Life of Henry Clay Lewis". For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2156, 2162. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, Education, African Americans, Natchez, Mississippi, Long Family, Literature, 20th Century Wars
|
|
|
Andrew Jackson account, ca. 1840, undated 1 item. Location: Misc.:J President of the United States, 1828-1836. Anonymous manuscript apparently submitted to a periodical for publication describes a visit to Jackson's Tennessee home, the Hermitage. The writer discusses the location and appearance of the plantation and Jackson's health, interests, and family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3212. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Literature
|
|
|
Andrews, James M. Papers, 1846-1892. .25 linear ft. (103 items; 1 ms. vol., 1 printed vol.). Location: U:6. Farmer of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. In the 1840s he was a member of the Johnson Guards, Andrew Jackson Regiment, as part of the Texas Army of Occupation. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, poems, nursery price lists, home recipes and remedies, tax and merchandise receipts, Confederate bonds, and the succession accounts of Mrs. Louisa Andrews. Correspondence includes letters from James' father discussing relatives, local affairs, and crop conditions in Clinton. Letters from his daughter describe economic conditions in Amite, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 861. |
|
|
Anne Rice collection, 1979-1991. 0.5 linear ft. Location: W:69. New Orleans, Louisiana author. Articles, interviews, and reviews by and about Anne Rice and her works. Includes audio tapes of interviews of Rice on National Public Radio (undated) and on a Larry King radio broadcast (November 1988). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4446. |
|
|
Anonymous account book, 1858-1866. 1 volume. Location: F:3. Anonymous account book of a Scottish firm engaged in the making and repair of furniture and in general carpentry work. Among the accounts is one for James Robert Hope-Scott of Abbotsford, grandson-in-law of Scottish novelist Sir Walter Scott. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600. Referenced in Guides: Business, Literature
|