Literature, Reading and Writing
This guide describes collections documenting literature, reading, and writing in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. It includes the papers of authors, novelists, playwrights, poets, journalists, editors, critics, professors, and historians as writers. Materials in the collections include drafts of literary works (novels, short stories, essays, and plays, among other genres) correspondence, diaries, biographical sketches, research materials, galley proofs, and book reviews. "Literary works" as defined here include popular works, poetry transcribed in diaries, and other common efforts at literary expression. Collections dealing with reading and publishing are also described in this guide. Diary-writing in itself (apart from diaries that contain literature or are the diaries of literary authors) does not qualify a collection for inclusion in this guide. Other diaries will be found in the guides to plantations and women's collections. Most of the collections are from Louisiana, but there are also materials from other areas of the Lower Mississippi Valley.
|
Brent, Joseph Lancaster. Papers, 1862-1940 (bulk 1862-1904, 1926-1940). 1.3 linear ft., 12 volumes. Location: U:243-245. Maryland native, lawyer, and Confederate general. Joseph Lancaster Brent practiced law in Louisiana, Baltimore, and Los Angeles. Married to Rosella Kenner, he assisted in the management of his father-in-law, Duncan Farrar Kenner's, plantations. Brent served as a Brigadier General in the Louisiana Cavalry Brigade during the Civil War. Collection consists primarily of correspondence between Brent and his wife, Rosella, and published and unpublished writings, including manuscript and printed copies of "Memoirs of the War Between the States" (1940), "The Lugo Case" and "Capture of the Ironclad Indianola" (1926). There is also a diary written by Brent in 1862 during his service in the Civil War. Also part of the collection are the papers of Brent's daughter, Nanine M. Brent, including a personal diary, recipe book, and household hints. Parts available on microfilm: University Publications of America, Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 15. Mss. 1477, 1822. |
|
|
Bristow, Gwen, 1903-. Letter: Beverly Hills, Calif., to Annette Duchein, 1941 December 2. 1 item. Location: Misc:B. American novelist and journalist married to movie producer Bruce Manning. Friendly letter reporting on remodeling of a house and current writing. Bristow tells of difficulties encountered when trying to write without having done sufficient preliminary work and gives her thoughts on Marcel Proust. Also mentioned is the 'colonel' and his work as a movie producer. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4601. Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature
|
|
|
Britt, Gladys Lawrence. Sketches of Miss Caroline Dorman: reminiscences, 1977. 1 item (19 pages). Location: Misc:B. Artist, author, and naturalist. She resided at 'Briarwood' in Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Recollections of Dorman's life and work were compiled by Britt and contain information obtained in interviews of friends and associates of Dorman including Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Nicholls, and Mrs. Nora Patterson. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3180. Referenced in Guides: Women, Literature
|
|
|
Britton, Audley Clark and Family. Papers, 1830-1929 (bulk 1843-1912). 2.1 linear ft.,14 volumes. Location: S:138-140, O:16, OS:B. Banker and planter of Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include letters and descriptions of the family, plantation, and social lives in Natchez and documents specific to Britton's business activities. Miscellaneous items include photographs, autographs, poems, ledgers, and genealogies. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1403, 1710. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, New Orleans to 1861, Business, African Americans, Natchez, Mississippi, Literature
|
|
|
Brooks Read Brer Rabbit Collection, 1950-1991 (bulk: 1950-1959). Ca. 29 linear feet. Approximately 500 reel to reel audio recordings, scripts, phonographs, correspondence, and subject files of Brooks Read, Baton Rouge storyteller, journalist, and political observer. Materials relate to Read's recorded productions of his original Brer Rabbit stories, as well as a few select Uncle Remus stories of Joel Chandler Harris. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4476. |
|
|
Brooks, Cleanth, 1906-. Papers, 1936-1963. 28 items. Location: W:49. American scholar, writer, and professor of English at LSU and Yale University. Collection consists of miscellaneous papers concerning administration policy at LSU and Phi Beta Kappa faculty at LSU; also typescript of Eliot H. Stanley's Harvard College Honors Thesis, The Tiger Stays For Dinner, 1963. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3426. |
|
|
Brossard, Chandler, 1922-. Manuscript, ca. 1955. 25 items (246 pages). Location: UU:128. Edited essays from The Scene Before You: A New Approach to American Culture. (New York, Rinehart, c. 1955). For further information, see catalog. Mss. 1961. Referenced in Guides: Literature
|
|
|
Brown, Harry Bates, Sr. Papers, 1908-1970. 14 linear ft. Location: T:109-122, OS:B. Professor of agronomy, LSU. Personal papers include family correspondence, legal and business records, and memorabilia. Professional papers include correspondence, research notes, materials pertaining to professional organizations and teaching, and manuscripts of published books. Mss. 2530. Referenced in Guides: LSU, Literature
|
|
|
Buck, Pearl S., 1892-. Letters, 1968. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. American writer and philanthropist. Letters to a correspondent in India commenting on the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert F. Kennedy; the Black Power demonstration by U.S. athletes at the Mexican Olympic Games; and racial problems in the United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2473, 2475. |
|
|
Buck, William C. Family correspondence, 1855-1894. 11 items. Location: Misc: B. Baptist minister of Columbus, Mississippi, and editor of the BAPTIST BANNER and WESTERN PIONEER in Louisville, Kentucky. Buck moved to Texas in 1866 and lived there until his death in 1872. Letters from Buck's son Gideon to his wife describe Staten Island and New York City; Northern attitudes toward his sister, who was living in the North; and Northern publishers' prejudices against his father's and other Southern literary works. Included is a letter from William to his son. Remaining correspondence by Sallie G. Willson and others discuss Waco Classical School, Salado College, development of Salado, Texas, and family matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1699. |